A cure for heavy rain and an empty house: Whisky Sausage Rolls


Or  rather Whisky-Caramelised-Onion sausage rolls.

We moved into the new place just shy of a month ago, and it’s still a bit of a tip with unpacked boxes and stuff on every surface. I haven’t been doing much cooking, much less baking. And by the time I made it home (faffing in the lab, finishing blog posts, answering phone calls, sheltering from the rain) it was nearer to 8 than half 7. But I have the house to myself, and not much to do this evening (besides cleaning out the guinea pigs and laundry and tidying and … oh…) I wanted carbs. I wanted comfort food. I wanted to open nice whisky.

This is an adaptation of an adaptation by Helen Graves. It is not quick. It isn’t cheap. It is not fool proof. But it is worth every minute and every penny (even when I got distracted by the Olympic swimming and it all went a bit pear-shaped…)

Sausage rolls

  • 500g sausage meat
  • 325g pack of pre-rolled puff pastry. If Jamie Oliver doesn’t make his own, I’m damned if I’m going to.
  • 3 large brown onions. Or a handful of smaller ones you have stashed in cupboards since the move.
  • A good chunk of butter. 50g or so.
  • A healthy slosh of nice whisky. (Or whiskey. I won’t judge you for choosing Irish. Much.) I’m one of those people who believes in putting nice red wine into my chilli, and having a decent smoky Isle whisky here just adds extra flavour. But then I’ve made them with Bells and three men still proposed marriage to me that evening, so it’s just possible I’m making excuses to buy nice whisky…
  • Lots of black pepper.
  • Some thyme
  • A spoon of red jalapeno peppers. (Yes, I like things hot. No, these aren’t in the original recipe. Yes, you can skip them).
  • An egg

The apricots from the original recipe are lush. But I didn’t have any. And there are lengths I’m prepared to go to for good sausage rolls on a Wednesday night. Buying apricots is beyond those lengths.

Instructi0ns

Melt the butter in most stick-proof pan you possess. Following aforementioned house move I have lost access to my favourite pan (as owned by previous housemate). New housemate’s pans are not up to the challenge and my onions burned *sob*. Add the onions and toss them in the melted butter. Stick the lid a plate you had nearby on, turn the heat right down, and leave alone for an hour. If this is your first time and you’re unsure of your pan, check them periodically with a wooden spoon. Burned onions are a sad sad thing.

When the onions are sticky and golden turn up the heat and slosh in a decent amount of whisky. As much whisky as you would pour for a really good friend. After he was dumped by his girlfriend. Once the liquid has boiled off, set them aside to cool down. Now is a good time to get your pastry out of the fridge to come up to room temp and preheat the oven to 200C.

Mix the sausagemeat, whisky-y onions and jalapenos with some thyme, a lot of black pepper and a little salt.

Put the pastry out on the worktop and roll it just a bit thinner and bigger than it is already. I always used to do this. Today I didn’t. The pastry wasn’t quite big enough and sausagemeat exploded everywhere. 

Cut the pastry into two long thin pieces and arrange the sausagemeat on either piece .

Brush one side of each pastry strip with the beaten egg, then fold each one over to make two long sausage rolls. or just pinch them together and skip the egg. Yeah, did I mention exploding sausage meat? Cut into pieces (approximately 12 in total).  Brush each roll with more beaten egg and cook for about 20 minutes.

Then try not to eat them all at once…

One response to “A cure for heavy rain and an empty house: Whisky Sausage Rolls

  1. Oh my goodness, this sounds amazing!

Leave a Reply

